CALL FOR ENTRIES: World Press Photo Multimedia Contest 2013

Alongside their  56th annual photojournalism contest, World Press Photo are holding their multimedia contest for a 3rd time and are looking for entries.

World Press Photo have recognised documentary storytellers additions to the field of visual journalism, focusing on innovative and exciting work within three broad categories:  an online short, and online feature and, most importantly for the i-Docs community, an interactive documentary! Their website states the following as the criteria for an i-doc (you can also view the criteria for their other categories here):

“An online interactive story or project. Productions must include photography and/or film in combination with (but not limited to) animation, graphics, illustrations, sound, or text. The documentary should employ interactivity, navigation, and design to create an inspired, visual user-experience that tells an original story with lasting impact.”

Entries will be judged by a jury jam packed with experts from the field and led by Keith W. Jenkins, who oversees the multimedia unit at Other members of the jury include founder and CEO of Storyplanet, Bjarke Myrthu and Caspar Sonnen, New Media coordinator for IDFA.

Afrikaner Blood from Ilvy Njiokiktjien on Vimeo.

Last years winner ‘Afrikaner Blood’

It’s really exciting to see this contest running for a third year in a row and to see the field of interactive documentary converging with photography and expanding into visual journalism. If you think your project could fit into this criteria, find out more below and have a look at the projects from last years contest here.

2013 World Press Photo Multimedia Contest: The Details

How to enter the multimedia contest
The deadline for registrations and submissions is 10 January 2013, 23.59 CET. Entries may only be submitted online via the World Press Photo entry website:

An international jury of leading professionals from the fields of visual journalism and documentary storytelling will be judging the entries at the World Press Photo office in Amsterdam, from 26 January until 1 February 2013. The 2013 Multimedia Contest edition includes a redefinition of the categories.

The winners of the 2013 Multimedia Contest will be announced on 1 February 2013.

The first place winner in each category will be awarded a cash award of €1,500 and a Golden Eye Award. Winners of second and third prizes receive a Golden Eye Award and a diploma. The awards will be presented at the Awards Ceremony on Saturday 27 April 2013 in Amsterdam.

For further information on the 2013 Multimedia Contest, the definitions of the categories, and the list of jury members, please visit: